top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl cadeline

50 Days Of Creativity (Day3)


Hello, Hello,Hello !

Its been a loong day. Been doing repeated paper works and I think I deserve a little creativity break.

Day 3

Find a Poem you love. read over it and think about why you love it then write your own.

Don't overthink it. Just create an image or a moment with words. Remember: you are creative.

I do enjoy reading. but I don't seem to remember any poems that struck on to me.. so I went on to good reads to explore poems from my favorite books.

I found 3 that I really like, one is from Stephen Chbosky:

Once on a yellow piece of paper with green lines he wrote a poem and he called it "chops" because that was the name of his dog and thats what it was all about his teacher gave him an A and a gold star and his mother hung it on the kitchen door and read it to his aunts. that was the year Father Tracy took all the kids to the zoo and he let them sing on the bus and his little sister was born with tiny nails and no hair and his mother and father kissed alot and the girl around the corner sent him a Valentine signed with a row of X's and he had to ask his father what the X's meant and his father always tucked him in bed at night and was always there to do it once on a piece of white paper with blue lines he wrote a poem he called it "Autumn" because that was the name of the season and that's what it was all about and his teacher gave him an A and asked him to write more clearly and his mother never hung it on the kithcen door beause of the new paint and the kids told him that Father Tracy smoked cigars and left butts on the pews and sometime they would burn holes that was the year his sister got glasses with thick lenses and black frames and the girl around the corner laughed when he asked her to go see santa claus and the kids told him why his mother and father kissed alot and his father never tucked him in bed at night and his father got mad when he cried for him to do it once on a paper torn from his notebook he wrote a poem and he called it "Innocence: A Question" because that was the question about his girl and thats what it was all about and his professor gave him an A and a strange steady look and his mother never hung it on the kitchen door because he never showed her that was the year Father Tracy died and he forgot how the end of the Apostles's Creed went and he caught his sister making out on the back porch and his mother and father never kissed or even talked and the girl around the corner wore too much make up that made him cough when he kissed her but he kissed her anyway becuase it was the thing to do and at 3 am he tucked himself into bed his father snoring soundly that's why on the back of a brown paper bag he tried another poem and he called it "Absolutely Nothing" because that's what it was really all about and he gave himself an A and a slash on each damned wrist and he hung it on the bathroom door because this time he didnt think he could reach the kitchen----

Was it a suicide note from Charlie? or from his friend Michael?

I felt that this poem reached out to a silent part of me and I am thankful for this poem that screamed out to me. It also narrates the changes we experience in growing up. I guess Its also kind of like life that ends in a mid sentence.

Another poem I loved is by a reader

Ashlei Cottom Jun 2014

A Beautiful Metaphor

You told me I was beautiful, A cigarette between your teeth. I raged at the careless gesture, You laughed and smiled. The first meeting, A beautiful metaphor. A first kiss, A shared wish, And the silent love. A beautiful metaphor. Happily Ever After came crashing down, Our demise up in lights, You held on 'til the bitter end, A flickering candle in the dead of night. A beautiful metaphor. You'll live forever in me. Augustus and Hazel, Okay? Okay. A beautiful metaphor.

A poem about "The Fault In Our Stars" This poem reminded me of everything I love about the fault in our stars, how love was portrayed not perfect but perfectly imperfect. It also describes the acknowledge of a beautiful sad ending. Beautiful use of metaphors that made everything possible.

Another tribute to the fault in our stars:

Zaynub Jun 2014

comfortable silences.

comfortable silences are like a third space found in the phone calls of Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters they hold their own infinity with the power of words unspoken because nothing needs to be said in a place of mutual silence

Such a beautiful wrap up. I love this poem as I am trying to appreciate the beauty of silence. I do value the balance of significance the words held.

And now here's a poem. A tribute to my Favourite books.

The opposite of loneliness is not found in the solace of companion.

But the companion of Self Solace.

They say beauty is in the eye of the beholder

but I think its in the value one holds.

You see things and notice them, you're a wallflower.

I see you and notice your values, your my infinity.

Silence is all we need

Yet the noise needs us.

Scream for what is right.

For the wrong wont be silenced.

life is like a roller coaster going up

life is filled with screams of excitement

Scream for what is right

For we have nothing to gain but everything to lose if we don't

As one said

Do not go gentle into that good night.

Go with full force

for life is a roller coaster.

Without a full force

Where's the Fun.

By Cheryl Cadeline Lee

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

50 Days of Creativity (Day 2)

Hello, Hello, Hello. It's day 2 of the challenge! Hope this turns out well.. And the lucky draw of today is.... Day 2 Tap into your senses Right now, what can you see, smell, hear, taste and touch? I'

bottom of page